uefa nations league

The 2020–21 UEFA Nations League was the second edition of the competition.

UEFA revised the format from the inaugural season whereby the top three leagues were increased to sixteen teams.

The league phase of the competition was played between September and November 2020, with the finals tournament for the group winners from League A taking place in Italy in October 2021.

France beat Spain 2-1 at the San Siro, Milan to become the competition's second champions.

Wales and the 2020 Nations League

The 55 UEFA members were divided into the four Leagues with 16 teams in League A, League B and League C and 7 teams in League D. Seeding was determined according to the UEFA national team coefficients after the conclusion of the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Wales were ranked 19th amongst UEFA members and therefore placed in Pot 1 of League B and drawn into Group B4 alongside Finland, Republic of Ireland and Bulgaria.

League B - Group 4

no.datescorescorers (wales)venue 
66203/09/2020Finland 0-1 WalesMooreOlympiastadion, HelsinkiNL
 03/09/2020Bulgaria 1-1 Republic of Ireland Stadion Vasil Levski, SofiaNL
66306/09/2020Wales 1-0 BulgariaN. WilliamsCardiff City Stadium, CardiffNL
 06/09/2020Republic of Ireland 0-1 Finland Aviva Stadium, DublinNL
 11/10/2020Finland 2-0 Bulgaria Olympiastadion, HelsinkiNL
66511/10/2020Republic of Ireland 0-0 Wales Aviva Stadium, DublinNL
66614/10/2020Bulgaria 0-1 WalesJ. WilliamsStadion Vasil Levski, SofiaNL
 14/10/2020Finland 1-0 Republic of Ireland Olympiastadion, HelsinkiNL
 15/11/2020Bulgaria 1-2 Finland Stadion Vasil Levski, SofiaNL
66815/11/2020Wales 1-0 Republic of IrelandBrooksCardiff City Stadium, CardiffNL
 18/11/2020Republic of Ireland 0-0 Bulgaria Aviva Stadium, DublinNL
66918/11/2020Wales 3-1 FinlandWilson, James, MooreCardiff City Stadium, CardiffNL

1.Wales65107116Promoted to League A
3.Republic of Ireland6033143 
4.Bulgaria6024272Relegated to League C