uefa nations league

The 2018–19 UEFA Nations League was the competition's inaugural season.

The league phase of the competition was played between September and November 2018, with the finals tournament for the group winners from League A taking place in Portugal in June 2019.

Portugal were the inaugural winners, beating the Netherlands 1-0 at the Estádio do Dragão, Porto.

Wales and the 2018 Nations League

The 55 UEFA members were divided into the four Leagues with 12 teams in League A, 12 teams in League B, 15 teams in League C, and 16 teams in League D. Seeding was determined according to the UEFA national team coefficients after the conclusion of the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Wales were ranked 14th amongst UEFA members and therefore placed in Pot 1 of League B and drawn into Group B4 alongside the Republic of Ireland and Denmark.

League B - Group 4

no.datescorescorers (wales)venue 
64606/09/2018Wales 4-1 Republic of IrelandLawrence, Bale, Ramsey, C RobertsCardiff City Stadium, CardiffNL
64709/09/2018Denmark 2-0 Wales Ceres Arena, AarhusNL
 13/10/2018Republic of Ireland 0-0 Denmark Aviva Stadium, DublinNL
64916/10/2018Republic of Ireland 0-1 WalesWilsonAviva Stadium, DublinNL
65016/11/2018Wales 1-2 DenmarkBaleCardiff City Stadium, CardiffNL
 19/11/2018Denmark 0-0 Republic of Ireland Ceres Arena, AarhusNL

1.Denmark4220418Promoted to League A
3.Republic of Ireland4022152Relegated to League C1


1 Due to revamp of the format for the 2020–21 UEFA Nations League, no teams were eventually relegated from League B.