european nations cup 1964

The 1964 European Nations Cup was the second UEFA European Championships, it was held in Spain between 17 July and 21 July 1964. The tournament was won by hosts, Spain, who defeated the Soviet Union 2–1 at the Santiago Bernabéu, Madrid.


The qualification for the 1964 European Nations Cup consisted of a preliminary round, a round of 16, and a quarter-final round with all ties played on a two-legged basis. The four quarter-final winners would qualify for the tournament proper with one of those four countries chosen to host it.

Cyprus, Finland and West Germany did not enter the qualifying competition and Greece withdrew having been drawn to face Albania in the First Round.

Wales and the 1964 European Championship

Wales were drawn to face Hungary with the first leg to be played away from home but travelled to Budapest without their captain, John Charles, who was refused permission to travel by his club, Leeds United.

Terry Medwin scored Wales' first goal in the European Nations Cup bringing Wales level after future European Fotballer of the Year, Flórián Albert, had put the home side in front however goals from Lajos Tichy and Károly Sándor gave the Hungariuans a deserved victory.

Charles was still missing from the home leg, a game which ended in a 1-1 draw with a penalty for both sides meaning Wales' first European Championship campaign was over.

1st Round

no.datescorescorers (wales)venue 
25007/11/1962Hungary 3-1 WalesMedwinNépstadion, BudapestECQ
25220/03/1963Wales 1-1 HungaryC Jones penNinian Park, CardiffECQ

Players used during qualifying

Wales used a total of 18 players during both legs of the qualifying campaign with Ivor Allchurch, Terry Hennessey, Barrie Jones and Stuart Williams the only four players to play in both matches. Ollie Burton won his first cap during the home leg.

Ivor Allchurch9090
Ollie Burton 90
Mel Charles90 
Vic Crowe90 
Mike England 90
Terry Hennessey9090
David Hollins 90
Mel Hopkins90 
Barrie Jones9090
Cliff Jones 90
Terry Medwin90 
Tony Millington90 
Graham Moore 90
Mel Nurse90 
Roy Vernon90 
Graham Williams 90
Phil Woosnam 90
Stuart Williams9090